OPEN SPACE ADVISORY BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 26, 2021 1:30pm Zoom Meeting

Members Present

Twyla McComb, Michael Scisco, Tasia Young, Barbara Taylor, Don Meaders, Scott Forrester

Members Absent

Taylor Bui

Staff Members Present

Colleen McRoberts (Superintendent, Open Space Division), Amanda Romero (Sr. Administrative Assistant, Open Space Division), James Lewis (Assistant Superintendent, Open Space Division), Tricia Keffer (Planner, Open Space Division), Adryana Montoya (Associate Planner, Open Space Division), Dave Simon (Director, Parks & Recreation Dept.), Jessica Campbell (PIO, Parks & Recreation Dept.)

Visitors Present

Mayor Tim Keller (COA Mayor's Office), Lawrence Rael (COA Mayor's Office), Shanna Shultz (COA City Council), Lan Sena (COA City Councilor), John Doller (ABCWUA), Steve House (ABCWUA), Victoria Dery (ABQWUA), David Laughlin (ABQWUA), Jim Strozier (ABCWUA), Chris Green (citizen), Rene Horvath (citizen), Phil Parkins (citizen), Cori & Steve Ewing (citizen), Ken Churchill (citizen), Rachel Swanteson-Franz (citizen), Dr. Joe Valles (citizen), CK Scott (citizen), Nick Harrison (citizen), Alan Varela (citizen), David Siebert (citizen), Dr. Susan Chaudoir (citizen)

1. Call to Order and Introductions

Chair Twyla McComb called the meeting to order at 1:32pm.

Mayor Tim Keller spoke to the board and members of the public in support of the Poole Property acquisition by the City.

2. Action: Approval of Agenda

Don Meaders moved approval of agenda, second by Michael Scisco.

Motion carried unanimously, 6-0

3. Action: Approval December 9, 2020 Minutes

Motion: Barbara Taylor moved the approval of the December 9, 2020 Minutes; second by Don Meaders.

Motion carried unanimously, 6-0.

4. Public Comment

Councilor Lan Sena, Dr. Susan Chaudoir, Steve Ewing and Dr. Joe Valles discussed their support and concerns within Open Space.

5. Action: Proposal for the Poole property to be included on the City's priority list for MPOS acquisition

Motion: Barbara Taylor moved to go into a closed session to discuss Poole Property; second by Tasia Young.

Motion carried, 5-1. Roll Call Vote: Barbara Taylor, Don Meaders, Michael Scisco, Tasia Young, and Twyla McComb. Scott Forrester abstained.

Motion: Michael Scisco moved the approval to add the Poole Property to the Open Space property acquisition list; second by Tasia Young.

Motion carried unanimously, 6-0 Roll Call Vote: Don Meaders, Michael Scisco, Barbara Taylor, Tasia Young and Twyla McComb.

Motion: Barbara Taylor moved to request that the City of Albuquerque negotiate with the seller for a phased payment option that will give the City and the Open Space Advisory Board time to consider all funding sources; second by Tasia Young.

Motion carried unanimously 6-0. Roll Call Vote: Michael Scisco, Scott Forrester, Don Meaders, Barbara Taylor, Tasia Young and Twyla McComb.

6. <u>Action: Support of Solar Energy Generation Facility proposed project at Alameda Open Space</u> *Motion:* Barbara Taylor moved the support of the Solar Energy Generation Facility proposed project at Alameda Open Space; second by Tasia Young.

Motion carried unanimously, 6-0 Roll Call Vote: Michael Scisco, Scott Forrester, Don Meaders, Barbara Taylor, Tasia Young and Twyla McComb.

7. Action: Support of 8E Transmission Pipeline proposed project at Tijeras Bio Zone

Motion: Barbara Taylor moved the support of 8E Transmission Pipeline proposed project at Tijeras Bio Zone; second by Don Meaders.

Motion carried unanimously, 6-0 Roll Call Vote: Michael Scisco, Scott Forrester, Don Meaders, Barbara Taylor, Tasia Young and Twyla McComb.

8. CNP EPC Hearing results

Superintendent Colleen Langan-McRoberts updated the board on the results of the CNP EPC Hearing.

9. Neighborhood Open Space Update

Superintendent Colleen Langan-McRoberts updated the board on the Neighborhood Open Space. This will be on February's agenda with a presentation.

10. Update from Open Space Staff

Superintendent Colleen Langan-McRoberts updated the board on upcoming projects and changes within Open Space.

11. Schedule for subcommittee meetings Feb

Madam Chair Twyla McComb discussed with the board on the scheduling of the subcommittee meetings. Special Meeting will be held on February 18, 2021, from 9:00 am - 11:00 am.

12. Adjournment

Motion: Tasia Young moved to adjourn the meeting; second by Barbara Taylor. Motion carried unanimously, 6-0. Meeting adjourned at 4:19pm.